Michigan Laws Would Ban Most Cell Phone Use While Driving Boost Penalties

Filter Type: All Time (37 Results) Past 24 Hours Past Week Past month Post Your Comments?

Michigan laws would ban most cell phone use while driving

LANSING, Mich. – Michigan lawmakers are advancing a package of bills that would ban most cell phone use while driving, as well as increase penalties for doing so. The bipartisan legislation (HB

 Show details

Michigan Cell Phone Law 2022: What You Need To Know

On January 25, 2022, Michigan cell phone law legislation passed the Michigan House that would allow only hands-free use of cell phones while driving. It would ban drivers from accessing social media and viewing videos while driving. It would also ban teen drivers from hands-free cell phone use. At this point, the bills have only been approved

 Show details

Michigan Texting and Driving Law 2022: What You Need to

2 days ago · The statutory language of the Michigan texting and driving laws appears to allow drivers to use hands-free cell phones and devices to …

 Show details

Michigan Cell Phone Laws Every Driver Should Know …

Currently, most Michigan adult drivers with licenses above Level 2 are allowed to use cell phones to speak while driving. This includes holding a cell phone in the hand as well as voice-operated systems that allow drivers to talk hands-free while operating a vehicle. However, while holding a cell phone in your hand is legal, it’s risky.

 Show details

Michigan’s CellphoneUse & TextingWhile Driving Laws

For most drivers, a texting violation won't lead to demerit points. But for commercial and school bus drivers, a texting ticket will add two points to their driver record. Talking on the Phone While Driving. For most Michigan motorists, there are no restrictions on …

 Show details

Should Michigan ban cell phone use while driving a car?

Michigan currently does not ban the use of cell phones by all drivers. Under Michigan law, only teen drivers are currently prohibited from using a cell phone while driving. (MCL 257.602c(1)) In March 2013, “Kelsey’s Law” was enacted in honor of Kelsey Raffaele, a Michigan teen who was killed in a cell phone-related car crash.

 Show details

Michigan bill could ban holding your phone while driving

The state enacted a ban on texting while driving in 2010, but subsequent attempts to go further by a ban on holding and talking on a phone while

 Show details

Morning Briefing June 1, 2021: Many restrictions on

Michigan lawmakers are advancing a package of bills that would ban most cell phone use while driving, as well as increase penalties for doing so. Currently, Michigan’s texting law carried a $100

 Show details

Michigan bill would prohibit phone use while driving for

Michigan bill would prohibit phone use while driving for motorists under 18. LANSING— Gov. Gretchen Whitmer and safety advocates want to combat distracted driving by restricting the use of

 Show details

Michigan bill would increase restrictions on cell phone

Michigan bill would increase restrictions on cell phone use while driving. The Michigan House is considering a bill to ban use of phones while driving unless …

 Show details

SOS Is it illegal for teen drivers to use cell phones

Beginning March 28, 2013, it is illegal for any teen driver with a Graduated Driver License Level 1 or Level 2 to use a cell phone while driving. "Use" means to initiate a call; answer a call; or listen to or engage in verbal communication through a cell phone. This does not apply if the teen is using a voice-operated system that is integrated

 Show details

Michigan considers ban on handheld phone use while

FILE - In this June 26, 2008 file photo, a Caltrans road sign warns drivers about the new cell phone law as they drive on westbound Highway 50 in Sacramento, Calif. Alarmed by the number of motorists staring at their screens instead of the road, lawmakers are proposing to make Michigan the 15th state to ban driving while holding a hand-held phone.

 Show details

Distracted driving: Cellphone use laws IIHSHLDI

Footnote 4 In Georgia, drivers younger than 18 were covered for eight years (2010-2018) by an all phone ban. Georgia HB 673 (2017) created a handheld ban for all drivers, effective July 1, 2018. The current law does not prohibit young drivers from using of earpieces, headphone devices or devices worn on the wrist to conduct voice based

 Show details

Michigan Cell Phone Laws Top Driver Driving School

Recent Developments to Michigan Cell Phone Laws. February 2019 the House of Representatives introduced three bills (HB 4181, 4198 – 4199 ) that would only allow hands-free calling and texting, as well as increasing penalties/fines for people who text or post on social media while driving. Penalties could increase from $100 to $250 for the

 Show details

Cell Phones and Driving Laws In Michigan Harris Law

One of dozens of laws which went into effect in Michigan in 2013, this law bans the use of a cell phones while driving by the state’s most inexperienced drivers, those 15, 16, and 17 year olds who hold Level 1 or Level 2 probationary licenses. Violations of this law are considered a civil infraction and have penalties which will be determined

 Show details

Michigan Texting Law has been in effect since July 1, 2010

Michigan Texting and cell phone laws. Michigan does not have a statewide cellphone law. However, Michigan does allow localities to determine their cellphone driving laws. You have to check with the local city that you visit to determine what their law is. Michigan’s biggest city (Detroit) passed a hands-free law in 2005, and it went into

 Show details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Contact Number

Frequently Asked Questions

Should michigan ban the use of cell phones by all drivers?

Perhaps the only way to stop this is if Michigan passes a law that bans the use of hand-held cell phones by all drivers. Michigan currently does not ban the use of cell phones by all drivers. Under Michigan law, only teen drivers are currently prohibited from using a cell phone while driving.

Is it against the law to text and drive in michigan?

Key takeaways are that it is against the law for any driver in Michigan to text while driving. Talking on the phone while driving is banned only for teens on a driver’s permit, truck drivers and school bus drivers. Significantly, developments in the Legislature suggest that changes to Michigan’s cell phone law 2022 may be coming.

Is it illegal to use a cell phone while driving?

There are currently 38 states (including Michigan) without bans on drivers’ hand-held cell phone use, according to the Governors Highway Safety Administration. The 12 states that do have laws with hand held cell phone bans, which “prohibit all drivers from using hand-held cell phones while driving,” are:

What is the new michigan cell phone law for 2022?

On January 25, 2022, Michigan cell phone law legislation passed the Michigan House that would allow only hands-free use of cell phones while driving. It would ban drivers from accessing social media and viewing videos while driving. It would also ban teen drivers from hands-free cell phone use.

Popular Search

Mopar
Moo Us